Click the links below to go directly to available resources:
**Frequently Asked Questions**
**Register Your Yoder Cooker**
**Find a Dealer**
**The Yoder Smokers Blog**
October 19th, 2015, 4:08 pm
#1
* Abilene ** Abilene *
  • Joined: August 23rd, 2014, 12:00 pm
  • Posts: 3

Have enjoyed my YS640 for over a year. However the last two times I've fired it up I've had an issue with the temperature gauge and maintaining an even temperature.

The last two times I've started it up, the temperature gauge shoots straight up to 586, before the firebox has even lit. Getting a three line --- reading on the gauge, even as the fire get's started. Temperature has remained high after even 20 minutes. Fire in the box dies down, but temperature remains pegged at 586, so there is something funky going on.

I've cleaned off the actual thermometer with no luck.

Looking for advice.

October 19th, 2015, 4:11 pm
#2
Site AdminSite Admin
User avatar
  • Joined: April 18th, 2014, 3:12 pm
  • Posts: 2101

Thermocouple is bad. Send an email with the following information to customerservice@yodersmokers.com:

Full name
shipping address
model
serial number
build date

Yoder_Herb
October 20th, 2015, 7:52 am
#3
* Abilene ** Abilene *
  • Joined: August 23rd, 2014, 12:00 pm
  • Posts: 3

Thanks! Email sent as instructed

October 28th, 2015, 11:19 am
#4
* Abilene ** Abilene *
  • Joined: August 23rd, 2014, 12:00 pm
  • Posts: 3

Herb,

Thermocouple arrived as promised....video instructions extremely helpful. Swapped out the old for new and everything is working great.

Thanks!

October 28th, 2015, 11:21 am
#5
Site AdminSite Admin
User avatar
  • Joined: April 18th, 2014, 3:12 pm
  • Posts: 2101

Yoder on!

Yoder_Herb
November 14th, 2015, 8:41 am
#6
* Abilene ** Abilene *
  • Joined: October 16th, 2014, 1:00 pm
  • Posts: 7

I'm glad to see that someone is having similar issues with their YS640. Herb, just want to ensure I require a new thermocouple as well. I too purchased my YS640 comp pellet smoker about 1 year ago. Have NOT done any high temperature cooking involving anything over 300 degrees. I have checked the fire box to ensure that the plate is not warped in any way. I always ensure that it is seated properly and ash cleaned out completely before any new cook. I've also wiped down the temperature probe after every smoke. With all that being said, here is my issue: I start up the smoker, the temperature goes way beyond the set temp (which is usually 225-250 degrees for all my smoking) and goes up to the upper 300 degree range AND STAYS THERE. After repeated attempts to "re-set" the temp to 250 degrees, it will sometimes come down to 250, but will start spiking again to the high 300's. I can't walk away from the smoker as it just seems to continue to spike for no reason. i don't open the smoker lid to cause the problem. I use BBQ'ers delight pellets too and nothing else? Any guidance is appreciated. Thanks, Bob Bolesta

November 14th, 2015, 8:56 am
#7
Site AdminSite Admin
User avatar
  • Joined: April 18th, 2014, 3:12 pm
  • Posts: 2101

bolesr1 wrote:I'm glad to see that someone is having similar issues with their YS640. Herb, just want to ensure I require a new thermocouple as well. I too purchased my YS640 comp pellet smoker about 1 year ago. Have NOT done any high temperature cooking involving anything over 300 degrees. I have checked the fire box to ensure that the plate is not warped in any way. I always ensure that it is seated properly and ash cleaned out completely before any new cook. I've also wiped down the temperature probe after every smoke. With all that being said, here is my issue: I start up the smoker, the temperature goes way beyond the set temp (which is usually 225-250 degrees for all my smoking) and goes up to the upper 300 degree range AND STAYS THERE. After repeated attempts to "re-set" the temp to 250 degrees, it will sometimes come down to 250, but will start spiking again to the high 300's. I can't walk away from the smoker as it just seems to continue to spike for no reason. i don't open the smoker lid to cause the problem. I use BBQ'ers delight pellets too and nothing else? Any guidance is appreciated. Thanks, Bob Bolesta


The important questions are; what "mode" the controller is in when you experience this, i.e., heat up, cool down or maintenance mode, and how long after hitting the START button this occurs.

What "mode" is the cooker in when you experience this issue?

How long after you hit the START button does this happen? If it is within the first 30 to 45 minutes, this could be the initial heat up mode spike, which can be a little more aggressive in cooler weather.

How long have you let the cooker run when this happens?

Yoder_Herb
November 14th, 2015, 9:15 am
#8
* Abilene ** Abilene *
  • Joined: October 16th, 2014, 1:00 pm
  • Posts: 7

Thanks for the quick response. Not a simple answer.
Once I hit the START button, the mode is in heat up.
Within 20-25 minutes, the temperature goes way past my set temp of 250. I understand that the smoker grill and all cooking components needs to get heated up to temp - so I wait for it to "level off" at the correct temp. That does not happen. The temp. stays high.
I open the grill, clean the probe quickly - wiggle it slightly and close grill lid.
After several attempts, I get the temp to go into "maintenance mode."
I place food product on grill (and I'm not using a lot of food for my cooks).
The cooker will will then go into heat up mode again and will continue to spike to the upper 300's.
Sometimes I can get it to stay in maintenance mode....for a little while.
However, I have found the smoker going into heat up mode 3-8 hours into the cook and spiking into the high 300's.
I am not cooking in cold temps. always 70 + degrees.

November 14th, 2015, 9:17 am
#9
* Abilene ** Abilene *
  • Joined: October 16th, 2014, 1:00 pm
  • Posts: 7

I'm sorry, one last point. I find the smoker in heat up mode more than maintenance mode.

November 14th, 2015, 9:23 am
Site AdminSite Admin
User avatar
  • Joined: April 18th, 2014, 3:12 pm
  • Posts: 2101

From your description, Your thermocouple and controller are working.

Are you placing meat close to the thermocouple? If so, the temperature can be skewed and the controller will think the cooker needs to heat up.

Are you using an external smoke tube? Do not put this anywhere close to the thermocouple, as it can cause the temperatures to be skewed.

Have you checked this: viewtopic.php?f=36&t=338 and this viewtopic.php?f=36&t=786

Opening the cooker, adding cold meat, spritzing/spraying/mopping liquid into the cooker can all cause the issue you are describing.

Yoder_Herb
November 14th, 2015, 9:43 am
* Abilene ** Abilene *
  • Joined: October 16th, 2014, 1:00 pm
  • Posts: 7

Thanks for the insight and suggestions. I have used an external smoke tube before and I have placed it somewhat near the thermocouple before.
I have placed food within 2 inches of the thermocouple as well - however, not routinely.
I also previously thought that the component that was warping was the fire box grate, and not the heat diffuser. Going out now to check on that AND will use the rod fix if appropriate. Thank you.

November 14th, 2015, 10:04 am
* Abilene ** Abilene *
  • Joined: October 16th, 2014, 1:00 pm
  • Posts: 7

It's warped. Anybody ever tell you that you're the man?

Return to Manuals, Troubleshooting, Best Practices, FAQs, Cooker Registration