Page 1 of 1

How to tell if you need firmware update?

PostPosted: April 13th, 2016, 8:09 pm
by Big Tex
I've had a new 640 for about 3 months. I have read many posts about people questioning the temp in the pit is different than the readout. Some post think its the probe that is bad, others the firmware. How can you tell if you have a problem or need to update the firmware?

Re: How to tell if you need firmware update?

PostPosted: April 13th, 2016, 9:18 pm
by Yoder_Herb
If you have a YS640 with the thermocouple on the hopper wall, the latest firmware is U29.

Re: How to tell if you need firmware update?

PostPosted: April 21st, 2016, 7:41 pm
by Big Tex
Thanks Herb

Firmware up date

PostPosted: June 26th, 2016, 11:35 am
by G Cal
I have an older YS640 with the thermocouple mounted horizontally on the back wall, are there up dates for this version???

Re: How to tell if you need firmware update?

PostPosted: June 26th, 2016, 11:37 am
by Yoder_Herb
U26 is the latest version for this configuration.

Re: How to tell if you need firmware update?

PostPosted: October 6th, 2016, 1:39 pm
by dlovett6
Silly question but how do you see what version of firmware you have. Have a YS640 that I bought last month.

Re: How to tell if you need firmware update?

PostPosted: October 6th, 2016, 1:47 pm
by Yoder_Herb
The version of firmware is displayed for 2 seconds after flipping the power switch to the ON position.

Re: How to tell if you need firmware update?

PostPosted: November 27th, 2016, 12:23 pm
by Randym
What is the firmware version as of 11/01/16?

Re: How to tell if you need firmware update?

PostPosted: November 27th, 2016, 2:49 pm
by Yoder_Herb
You didn't specify which cooker.

YS480 R37
YS540 U29
YS1500 B20

viewtopic.php?f=58&t=555

Re: How to tell if you need firmware update?

PostPosted: February 20th, 2017, 5:06 pm
by herbertalleyt
How do you get and install a firmware update on a ys 640 with temp probe on inside hopper wall

Re: How to tell if you need firmware update?

PostPosted: February 20th, 2017, 6:42 pm
by Conumdrum
Send an email to Yoder specifying your build date and serial number. If possible on your unit you pay and they send you a unit to do it. You have to open the hopper wall and connect a box and it will do it. Then you send the box back.

Re: How to tell if you need firmware update?

PostPosted: February 20th, 2017, 7:05 pm
by Yoder_Herb
Fill out this form: download/TSB/Pellet%20Grill%20Programer%20Payment%20Agreement%20-%20Yoder%20Smokers.pdf and fax it in to us, and make sure to include the current firmware version. installed on your cooker. It is displayed for 2 seconds after flipping the power switch to the ON position.

Re: How to tell if you need firmware update?

PostPosted: September 11th, 2018, 4:35 pm
by davewilley
How would you get and introduce a firmware refresh on a ys 640 with temp test on inside container divider

Re: How to tell if you need firmware update?

PostPosted: September 11th, 2018, 8:15 pm
by Yoder_Herb
davewilley wrote:How would you get and introduce a firmware refresh on a ys 640 with temp test on inside container divider


Not quite sure what you are asking. Would you elaborate please?

Re: How to tell if you need firmware update?

PostPosted: April 23rd, 2019, 2:39 pm
by colinrcampbell
What is the latest version of firmware for a YS-640 manufactured in 2018?

Re: How to tell if you need firmware update?

PostPosted: April 23rd, 2019, 3:01 pm
by Yoder_Herb
U29