Share information about who you are, what you do, where you are from, and the equipment you use.
September 11th, 2021, 11:21 pm
* Abilene ** Abilene *

I almost made a huge mistake and bought a Traeger at the big box. I was going to read one more review when someone tactfully suggested that the OP should look into a Yoder instead. Yoder? Never heard of it. I was intrigued as the name sounded Amish and I wondered if beside incredible furniture they made smokers? Was Amish BBQ a thing I’ve been missing out on? A quick search led me down an hours-long rabbit hole. Hours turned into days and I read and watched everything Yoder I could. Given the choice, on purchases like this, I’ll chose quality every time if my budget allows.

I’m a total rookie. Years ago I started with an electric Masterbuilt then moved on to propane. Never had a smoke ring but I spent a few years with my humble smoker perfecting recipes and techniques. I taught myself how to make bacon, ham, Canadian bacon, summer sausage, bratwurst, beef jerky, and ribs. I shied away from brisket as it’s a very rich meat and I wasn’t confident in my propane smoker skills to make a big $$$ mistake. Covid sent me into seclusion so I turned to my hobbies for recreation. Lego was getting expensive and I was running out of room. It made total sense to me that if my hobby was causing storage issues, I should eat my hobby. Problem solved!

Now I was resolved that to take my fledging BBQ skills to the next level I needed to take a step up from the propane. I’d love a stick burner but I also have no time to babysit the firebox. A pellet smoker seemed to make perfect sense. I pre-purchased one through a local Yoder dealer. Now, 80 other new owners and myself are patiently awaiting the arrival of our 640s’s on a magic truck from the east.