Discuss, share information, ask questions, and show off your expertise on Yoder Stick Burners.

Click the links below to go directly to available resources:
**Backyard** - Cheyenne, Wichita, Loaded Wichita, Kingman, Durango 20", Durango 24", Stockton
**Trailer Mounted** - Santa Fe, Chisholm, Frontiersman
**Competition** - Cimarron, Kingman, Frontiersman
**Custom Trailers, Combinations and Competition Cookers**
September 5th, 2020, 6:13 pm
* Abilene ** Abilene *

We just got our Wichita and are still very low on the learning curve. I have had some experience burning sticks in a maple syrup evaporator. We modified our evaporator and found that after hours of boiling with a stack temp of around 1100 degrees you could still put your hand on the side of the firebox. Insulation matters.

It strikes me the this smoker is incredibly inefficient. Neither the firebox nor the pit under the thermal distribution plate has any insulation. So I have taken some firebricks and put in a layer under the grate in the firebox. We have not cooked since we added this but I am expecting a good result. If anyone wants a picture to see what we did I can upload a picture.

I am considering putting more firebrick under the heat distribution plate but I'm still scratching my head about how that will work with fat drippings. Maybe aluminum foil will work.

Our home is in the Caledon Hills just north of Toronto, Ontario and the season is changing so I think winter cooks will benefit even more from some insulation.

I'd like to hear some feedback

PS the first chicken went into the garbage. the next cook was ribs and they were the best I've ever had.

December 2nd, 2020, 8:30 pm
* Abilene ** Abilene *