November 15th, 2014, 10:32 am
* Abilene ** Abilene *

I have a brand new Cheyenne smoker but am having trouble maintaining a constant temperature. I'm new to BBQing and would appreciate any help that I can get. When adding coals, should they be cold or heated in a chimney? Should I leave the firebox vent open half way as well as the chimney vent or just adjust the firebox vent. Any help would be appreciated.

November 15th, 2014, 7:58 pm
* Kingman ** Kingman *

good info here for a start:

viewtopic.php?f=49&t=132

~All that is gold does not glitter ~ Not all those that wander are lost~
~20" Yoder "Swiss Army Knife" Stick Burner~
November 15th, 2014, 9:32 pm
* Wichita ** Wichita *

I personally only use lump char coal to start the fire, once it gets good and hot I use the wood for fuel. I adjust the damper to get the correct temperature and leave the chimney open, I add wood when the damper has to be half open to maintain temp.
I enjoy sitting outside and watching my Wichita do its thing. Right or wrong this works for me. This forum is a great tool for everything from A to Z. YouTube has some good info too.

November 16th, 2014, 1:00 am
* Abilene ** Abilene *

I have the Wichita. I heat up a chimney full of lump pour it in firebox and add two or three hickory splits. I let that burn for awhile, then closes the firebox lid with vent wide open. The important thing is to let the steel heat up. The process takes about an hour,then I put the food on And close vent halfway. Be sure to let the smoker heat up..patience grasshopper. It takes a few smokes to learn how to deal with temperature, and outside air temperature will have an impact.

Yoder Loaded Wichita, pile of wood, matches.
November 16th, 2014, 8:29 am
* Abilene ** Abilene *

This has been my first post asking for help on how to enjoy my Cheyenne smoker. Thanx for the tips Thumper, Mike YS and Paulthewall. Your good info should get me started. Love being a part of the Yoder family. Thanx again.