Share information about who you are, what you do, where you are from, and the equipment you use.
August 12th, 2017, 7:56 am
* Abilene ** Abilene *

It's a big day for me today as I'm picking up my new YS640! Bought it almost three weeks ago over the phone/email and first now able to drive and pick her up!

Love this forum, look forward to learning more and sharing some of what I do and will do on my smoker. While not new to smoking/grilling, I am new to the Yoder family. After a month of not being able to smoke or grill due to waiting for parts, then wrenching on my GMG Jim Bowie - I made the executive decision to upgrade to what I think is the best in the class - The Yoder.

So, this post is not only to introduce myself but to ask a question. If you had the chance to start over, from day one with your smoker, what would you do different, if anything?

For instance, wrap the drip tray with foil or not? Those type of things...

For the introduction part of this post, here goes:

My name is Mark and my wife and I recently moved into a condo just outside of Milwaukee. I have lived here in Wisconsin all my life. I've burned more food on the grill than I want to mention which made me look into the pellet grills. I've never turned back and will never use any other type of grill for smoking.

I have four kids of my own, plus two step kids. I've been blessed with seven grandkids now as well. It was pretty drastic for us to move from a large four bedroom house on an acre of land to this condo, but we did it. I had to give away three other grills that I had since there are a few condo association restrictions to deal with. So I will be wheeling out my Yoder to the driveway each time I grill or smoke. Not a big deal really, as that's what I was doing with my Green Mountain Grill (which I now took to my day job so that I can grill at work now too).