Share information about who you are, what you do, where you are from, and the equipment you use.
August 17th, 2016, 9:53 pm
* Wichita ** Wichita *

Howdy folks.

I've already posted on the stick burner forum a few times but have never introduced myself. I am a computer programmer currently living in Houston, TX. I like to cook BBQ for my family and friends, and I've been using a Big Green Egg for a couple of years, and decided it was time to do some serious Texas BBQ on an offset smoker using local hardwoods.

I researched all over the place and initially wanted to buy from one of the Houston-area custom fabricators because we have quite a few good ones down here, like Lone Star Grillz, Pitmaker, Klose, Gator Pit, Pitts by JJ, etc. I was particularly interested in Lone Star Grillz because they claim to have the best fitting doors in the business, with tolerances tight enough to prevent even a single credit card from sliding underneath the flanges.

Also, the thought of spending a chunk of money for shipping was a turn-off, and I have a big truck so I thought I'd save some cash by picking up the smoker myself.