Share information about who you are, what you do, where you are from, and the equipment you use.
May 22nd, 2016, 6:54 pm
* Abilene ** Abilene *

I am new to the forum. I have been smoking meats for over 10 years. I have a Bradely smoker that has lots of miles on it. I am retiring at the end of June. Will have plenty more time to do more smoking of meats, etc. Really looking seriously at the Yoder 480 or 640. One question - some people on different forums say the pellet smokers do not generate as much smoke as wood fired smokers. My Bradely is electric, small and feeds hockey puck sized pressed wood thorough an electric feed. The Bradely generates lots of smoke. It's is small and the area is confined. Great for ribs, Alabama chickens, brisket, etc. The Bradely has seen many many cooks and is not holding up well. It has a plastic housing along the bottom that is cracking.

It's a good time to upgrade. I Do not cook for more then 2-4 most of the time. Occasionally 4-12. Have researched lots of smokers and it seems to me the Yoder is #1 - American made, efficient, durable, and does the things I need. It will also smoke and grill if wanted. I have a gas grill I plan to keep so that is not critical I am interested in upgrading the smoker. It's seems that Yoder has resolved the issues I read about that where happening in 2012-2013. I am interested in any information anyone can share about their personal experience positive and negative with the 480 or the 640. I am sold on the product. Just need to decide which to purchase the 480 or the 640?
Thank you,
Jeff Sparagana

May 22nd, 2016, 9:22 pm
* Abilene ** Abilene *

Just cooked a roast on my 640 and got 1/4 -3/8 smoke ring. There is no lack of smoke with pellet Yoder smokers. I went with the 640 for the size. I also only cook for 4 but many times I will cook the entire meal on, meat, veggies, etc... on it. You will be happy with either one.

May 22nd, 2016, 9:22 pm
* Abilene ** Abilene *

Oh and welcome!