Click the links below to go directly to available resources:
**Frequently Asked Questions**
**Register Your Yoder Cooker**
**Find a Dealer**
**The Yoder Smokers Blog**
December 26th, 2015, 11:05 pm
#1
* Abilene ** Abilene *
  • Joined: June 13th, 2015, 2:50 pm
  • Posts: 4
  • Location: Stow, MA

Hello Fellow Yoder Owners!

I have owned my Yoder Smoker for about 6 months and I have been struggling to figure out why my YS-640 will not keep a consistent temperature. If I set my YS-640 to 250 on the control panel and I monitor the temperature, I find that it fluctuates from 200 to 300 degrees. I have a Tappeuce unit so I am able to monitor the temperature and graph it across my entire cook and am concerned about the swing. I purchased the Yoder due to its great reputation for consistency and control so I am wondering if I have a faulty unit. Any thoughts?

Regards,
Mt Man

December 27th, 2015, 8:58 am
#2
December 29th, 2015, 7:36 am
#3
* Abilene ** Abilene *
  • Joined: October 4th, 2015, 7:41 pm
  • Posts: 20
  • Location: Lincoln illinois

If you haven't, call customer service and upgrade to v29 version of the operation system. Its a free upgrade and it makes a big difference. I upgraded mine and haven't noticed no more the +/- ten degrees.

yoder 640
April 5th, 2017, 3:51 pm
#4
* Abilene ** Abilene *
  • Joined: April 5th, 2017, 1:56 pm
  • Posts: 2

I just did my first cook after the break in process and i set it at 375 and it kept rising to 425-435 is this normal? i have a YS640 i bought it Sunday 4/2/17 broke it in on that day and cooked on it Tuesday 4/4/17

April 5th, 2017, 4:55 pm
#5
Site AdminSite Admin
User avatar
  • Joined: April 18th, 2014, 3:12 pm
  • Posts: 1885

Yes, within the first 30 minutes after pushing the START button.

Yoder_Herb

Return to Manuals, Troubleshooting, Best Practices, FAQs, Cooker Registration