Discuss, share information, ask questions, and show off your expertise on Yoder Pellet Cookers.

Click the links below to go directly to available resources:
**Pellet cookers** - YS480, YS640
**Competition Pellet cookers** - YS480 Comp, YS640 Comp, YS1500 Comp, Cimarron Comp
**Pellet Cooker Warranty**
July 21st, 2015, 2:45 pm
* Abilene ** Abilene *

Hopefully yall can help the new guy out. I recently became a new proud owner of a new YS640. I am new to the pellet world and have learned the cooking method is definitely different than my last stick burner.

I've attempted two briskest so far and have been disappointed in the bark. Im beginning to think this is a con with a pellet smoker. I'm ok if this is the case because there are so many pros with the Yoder.

I'd appreciate it if anyone has a good technique they'd like to share. Also, I'd love to hear how yall smoke your briskets from start to finish. Just trying to figure out what is best for the pellet smoker.

Thanks guys!

July 21st, 2015, 3:44 pm
Site AdminSite Admin

It would be helpful for you to post up your process, to see what you are doing. There are as many ways of prep and cooking as there are stars in the sky, and there are no wrong methods, just personally preferred ones.

Also, your assessment of what "good" and "disappointing" bark is. This will help us to point you in the right direction to achieve what you are wanting for the final product.

Yoder_Herb
July 21st, 2015, 7:19 pm
* Durnago ** Durnago *

As Herb said, are you looking for a crunchy bark? Or what specifically are you wanting? I've been able to achieve all sorts of different barks on my Yoder pellet cookers, so your method may just need adjusting to the new cooker. And anytime you change cookers, methods usually need some tweaking.

What stickpit where you using before?

July 21st, 2015, 8:43 pm
* Abilene ** Abilene *