Discuss, share information, ask questions, and show off your expertise on Yoder Pellet Cookers.

Click the links below to go directly to available resources:
**Pellet cookers** - YS480, YS640
**Competition Pellet cookers** - YS480 Comp, YS640 Comp, YS1500 Comp, Cimarron Comp
**Pellet Cooker Warranty**
September 12th, 2014, 5:20 pm
* Abilene ** Abilene *

Hey my new 640 arrived and I got the dual door thermometer upgrade but am having trouble exactly how to mount them .... any help would be appreciated

September 12th, 2014, 5:24 pm
* Durnago ** Durnago *

Loosen the set screw in the stainless thermometer mount on the door, slide the thermometer in, then tighten the set screw.

September 12th, 2014, 5:42 pm
* Abilene ** Abilene *

wow I'm a newb. Thanks for the fast reply and it worked like a charm....... starting the initial burn :D

September 12th, 2014, 6:03 pm
* Durnago ** Durnago *

You bet! You aren't the only one. Have fun with it!

September 14th, 2014, 1:49 pm
* Abilene ** Abilene *

Like many things in life...personal preference.

Being the grill is built like a tank, I wanted the Thermometers to be mounted the same way (IMO). I removed the stainless thermometer mounts, re-drilled the holes to allow the thermometers to be mounted directly into the door without the stainless mounts, drilling the hole just big enough to where the Thermometer threads would just have a little bit of grip into the door in addition to the backing nut and locking washer to hold them secure and in place. I did call Yoder and discussed this before doing so. I DID MAKE SURE they would clear the second shelf before doing this modification to "The Factory" set up of the door thermometers, as the probes will extend further into the grill, and made sure to use a high temp paint to protect the metal that just got drilled before installing them back on the door. Anyone choosing to do this modification will quickly realize the quality of metal that is used in the building of a Yoder Grill.