Discuss, share information, ask questions, and show off your expertise on Yoder Pellet Cookers.

Click the links below to go directly to available resources:
**Pellet cookers** - YS480, YS640
**Competition Pellet cookers** - YS480 Comp, YS640 Comp, YS1500 Comp, Cimarron Comp
**Pellet Cooker Warranty**
November 19th, 2018, 7:56 am
* Abilene ** Abilene *

Hello all, Ill make this as short and to the point as possible. I have been smoking for events, family and guests for about 15 years. My first smoker was an Oklahoma Joes, 2nd was a Horizon Ranger and most recently is a YS-640. Since purchasing the Yoder in March of 2017, I have been less than pleased with the way the meat turns out...not near enough smoke and ring to call it smoked meat. I have used many different pellet brands and flavors...finally settled on the Lumberjack Supreme blend. Over the last couple of years, I noticed that requests for my food and services has declined, I can understand why. I tried the smoking tubes and weggies...not happy at all. I dont know if this is is as good as it gets? I know ill get hammered for this but, I used my brothers Pit Boss 820 Deluxe last weekend for four slabs of loinbacks, that was a fine cook with just the right amount of smoke (2 hours on 150 before turning to 250). What am I missing? If this is normal, I have a YS-640 for sale $800.00 in Kansas. Thanks!

November 23rd, 2018, 11:04 pm
* Cheyenne ** Cheyenne *

Did you run the Yoder the same way as the PB? I would assume so. If you are trying some final things before giving up the Yoder, I would try LumberJack 100% Hickory, Amazn' tube, and lower heat. I also feel like the top shelf gets more smoke (because of less heat).

I'm almost the exact opposite... I like running at a higher heat, on the lower shelf, without the Amazn'. It's all preference.