Discuss, share information, ask questions, and show off your expertise on Yoder Pellet Cookers.

Click the links below to go directly to available resources:
**Pellet cookers** - YS480, YS640
**Competition Pellet cookers** - YS480 Comp, YS640 Comp, YS1500 Comp, Cimarron Comp
**Pellet Cooker Warranty**
April 7th, 2018, 4:19 pm
* Abilene ** Abilene *

I’m just getting into smoking and I’m about to buy my first smoker, a YS640 w/comp cart. My question is what should I get with it? What offficial Yoder accessories are must haves, nice to haves, splurges, and not worth its? Also, what else am I going to need to pick up in the short term (tongs, pellets, thermometers, etc)?

April 7th, 2018, 8:24 pm
* Kingman ** Kingman *

Top grate for more cooking room. Two piece diffuser. Grill grates. Don't need anymore really.

You can go for the stainless shelves on the outside, or the comp cart. Comp cart if you plan to take it off the patio. Otherwise, nothing needed like all the fancy odd add ons that other makers need to make it perfect.

April 8th, 2018, 12:54 pm
* Wichita ** Wichita *

Agree with conumdrum. I actually posed the same question nearly 4 years ago when I first got mine. Other than a Thermapen I see no use for the other thermostats but others swear by them. I did buy the spatula but found out I only use it for cleaning the back side of the grill grates. I live near Seattle so found the thermal blanket a nice add on but not absolutely necessary (might be different in your area). For pellets...read than numerous threads or go with the company line. For me, I grill a lot and buy by the ton...tried them all and settled on Lumberjack. Depending on where you live and how much you use the pit you may feel differently. Honestly thee are only a few worth buying. Might want to pick up a sealed container to store opened pellets. You should get a small designated shop vac...the small one I think 2 1/2 gallon for cleaning ash. Both can be bought at HomeDepot.