Discuss, share information, ask questions, and show off your expertise on Yoder Pellet Cookers.

Click the links below to go directly to available resources:
**Pellet cookers** - YS480, YS640
**Competition Pellet cookers** - YS480 Comp, YS640 Comp, YS1500 Comp, Cimarron Comp
**Pellet Cooker Warranty**
March 29th, 2018, 8:32 am
* Abilene ** Abilene *

I am still relatively new to Yoder Pellet smokers. I have a YS640. I bought it used about four months ago. After destroying a brisket earlier this week I have decided to research this a little more and learn better how to use this fine piece of equipment. Any thoughts as to where to start? Any resources to get up to speed?

March 29th, 2018, 8:50 am
Site AdminSite Admin

http://thesauce.atbbq.com is our go-to blog

Yoder_Herb
March 29th, 2018, 12:21 pm
* Wichita ** Wichita *

I will start by saying brisket is the hardest meat to perfect. There are many variables the main one being to not take off too much fat when trimming...so don't beat yourself up!

The second thing I always tell people is do not try to out think the pit. Raising and lowering temps (on your own)is not out of the question just really very little need to more than once on pretty much any cook.

I would say ribs, smoked salmon and fatty's are the three easiest to cook. If you want to build up your confidence try one of those. All three set and almost forget...cannot go wrong!

None of us are experts but the ys640 is the most foolproof smoker out there...makes us all better than before if you let it!

March 29th, 2018, 12:49 pm
* Abilene ** Abilene *

Thanks for the tips Westhemess1.

A little background, I have been smoking meat for almost 10 years and have done several successful briskets. This was my first on the Yoder. I know this can be a temperamental piece of meat. Looking back though, I may have trimmed off a bit too much fat. The part that was discouraging for me was that it was for a church group. I really appreciate the encouragement.