Discuss, share information, ask questions, and show off your expertise on Yoder Pellet Cookers.

Click the links below to go directly to available resources:
**Pellet cookers** - YS480, YS640
**Competition Pellet cookers** - YS480 Comp, YS640 Comp, YS1500 Comp, Cimarron Comp
**Pellet Cooker Warranty**
December 28th, 2017, 8:39 am
* Abilene ** Abilene *

Hello- Im new to the Yoder game, i purchased a YS 1500 w competition cart and it was delivered this September. Have had a ball getting to know her, and was starting to pull off some really good cooks for me and my family.

However, i am now beginning to have issues getting the cooker up to temperature in the cold weather. I live outside Pittsburgh PA, so it gets pretty cold here in the winter.

Yesterday it was bitter cold, so i decided to do an experiment. it was 13 degrees ambient temp, w 10 mph winds.

Set the temp at 350, and kicked it into H3 mode. Was using new bags of pellets, BBQR's delight, cherry and pecan.

in 3 hours, the pit never reached 350. The highest reading on the controller was 320 degrees at 3 hours. i used an external probe as well, and it tracked very accurately with the controller, its highest reading was 335 degrees.

So my questions are these:
1. is this expected?
2. Tips or tricks for cold weather cooking?
3. Is there any plans for having a thermal blanket add-on for the 1500?

Thanks in advance.

December 28th, 2017, 10:03 am
* Kingman ** Kingman *

For now you could buy a Harbor Freight welding blanket and a moving blanket. Welding blanket on first. They are cheap and pretty effective.

December 28th, 2017, 12:06 pm
Site AdminSite Admin

Give our customer service department a call at 877.409.6337, option #2, or send an email to customerservice@yodersmokers.com to address your concerns.

There are no plans for a YS1500 thermal jacket.

Yoder_Herb
December 28th, 2017, 4:52 pm
* Kingman ** Kingman *