Discuss, share information, ask questions, and show off your expertise on Yoder Pellet Cookers.

Click the links below to go directly to available resources:
**Pellet cookers** - YS480, YS640
**Competition Pellet cookers** - YS480 Comp, YS640 Comp, YS1500 Comp, Cimarron Comp
**Pellet Cooker Warranty**
August 22nd, 2017, 11:02 am
* Abilene ** Abilene *

I just upgraded from a Traeger to a YS640. First a little background - I have been smoking for nearly 7 years. I have used a UDS (Ugly Drum Smoker) in the past, then the Traeger, now the Yoder

I purchased the Yoder used but in fantastic shape. I absolutely loved my Traeger and used it for two years with no problems at all. Having said that, I noticed an immediate difference in quality between the Traeger and the Yoder.

I did my first smoke last night and smoked some bratwurst and chicken thighs. I smoked them pretty high (350 for most of the cook). They looked fantastic. I smoked the brats on the left side - closed to the firepot. The chicken covered the rest of the grill space. I had the damper set about 5 inches from the furthest left that it can go. I believe the owner's manual said this should keep the temps fairly even across the grill space.

The brats were fantastic, juicy and some smoke flavor. The chicken was a different story. I pulled the chicken at 165 and the skin was tough and the meat had virtually no smoke flavor. Using this same method with my Traeger produced plenty of smoke flavor. Not sure how to correct this? Was this a problem with the damper? If so, how can I adjust it to improve?

August 22nd, 2017, 6:34 pm
* Cheyenne ** Cheyenne *