Discuss, share information, ask questions, and show off your expertise on Yoder Pellet Cookers.

Click the links below to go directly to available resources:
**Pellet cookers** - YS480, YS640
**Competition Pellet cookers** - YS480 Comp, YS640 Comp, YS1500 Comp, Cimarron Comp
**Pellet Cooker Warranty**
July 17th, 2016, 10:04 pm
* Cheyenne ** Cheyenne *

Hello,

I've been using my YS640 for almost a year now and I am ready to try a pork butt. I have never cooked one before so I am learning as much as I can from other posts but wanted to stick to Yoder forums since other websites bring in other cookers which can complicate a novice cooker. So far people LOVE my ribs, thank you Yoder Forums and Chef Tom!

I a planning on using Oakridge Pork rub and my frog mats. I have been telling my staff now for a few months I am going to cook one so I need to make good on the promise. So I'll start with some questions.

1. I read Yoder Herb talking about FTC (foil, towel, cooler) would this work to finish the cook and then place in cooler take it to work and is should be good to eat by lunch time?
2. Since this will be an overnight cook, which pellet flavor cooks using the least amount of pellets so I can get the most amount of sleep, LOL? I need to check on it the least during the night. I'm using exclusively BBQ delight and have just about all the varieties they sell.
3. As a first time cook, which temp, rack, meat and damper position is the safest?
4. I read about injecting the pork butt is this necessary if it's all about eating? Can I season with rub and let it sit in fridge wrapped (in what) all day before the overnight cook? I have an injector... :?
5. Including myself and staff there are 6 of us, what size pork butt do you recommend? Based on this weight what is the total cook time? There's another office in the building so if word get's out...
6. Are there any "secrets" that will make this extraordinary and far and above off the street pulled pork?