Discuss, share information, ask questions, and show off your expertise on Yoder Stick Burners.

Click the links below to go directly to available resources:
**Backyard** - Cheyenne, Wichita, Loaded Wichita, Kingman, Durango 20", Durango 24", Stockton
**Trailer Mounted** - Santa Fe, Chisholm, Frontiersman
**Competition** - Cimarron, Kingman, Frontiersman
**Custom Trailers, Combinations and Competition Cookers**
August 27th, 2014, 6:53 pm
* Abilene ** Abilene *

I am new to the stick burner world, I still have a few weeks before my Loaded Wichita arrives. I have only used pellet smokers. Does anyone remove the bark on their logs or do you use them with the bark on?

August 27th, 2014, 9:05 pm
* Wichita ** Wichita *

I've heard that sometimes the bark causes a bitter flavor in the meat, but I personally have not noticed that, I have tried both ways. You may have to experiment to see what you like.

August 27th, 2014, 9:13 pm
* Durnago ** Durnago *

No. The only time I take the bark off is if it is falling off, or if it has mold or rot on it. I don't cook with any wood, bark or heartwood if it has mold or rot. But I will chop it off and keep any good wood that remains on that split. Otherwise, I leave the bark on with no issues. I actually like the added smoke flavor it provides, and it's not bitter as some people might suggest. Bitter flavor comes from a smoldering fire that is not burning cleanly. Keep the fire small and hot.